Sebastien Ogier crowned 2020 champion!


Sebastien Ogier won his seventh FIA World Rally Championship title in eight seasons with victory at ACI Rally Monza on Sunday afternoon.

The Frenchman started the final round on the back foot, but when series leader and Toyota Yaris team-mate Elfyn Evans crashed on Saturday, Sebastien Ogier took advantage to win the asphalt fixture by 13.9sec and take the crown by eight points.

Outgoing champion Ott Tanak finished second, 1.4sec ahead of team-mate Dani Sordo. The double podium was sufficient to secure back-to-back manufacturers’ titles for Hyundai Motorsport.

Takamoto Katsuta won the live TV Wolf Power Stage in a Yaris to collect five bonus points. Ott Tanak was second to claim four points, with Evans taking three in third. Esapekka Lappi took two points in fourth in a Ford Fiesta and Sebastien Ogier secured the final point in fifth.

“Oh, that was scary! I knew there were still a couple of narrow gates to pass and it would have been challenging without seeing anything,” said Sebastien Ogier, who has now won the title with three different manufacturers.

“It’s been a difficult weekend. We feel for Elfyn also today. He made a very strong season, very consistent, and we had really good fun to fight each other. I’m very happy and I feel very privileged.”

Outgoing champion Ott Tanak finished second in a Hyundai i20, 1.4sec ahead of team-mate Dani Sordo. The double podium was sufficient to secure back-to-back manufacturers’ titles for Hyundai Motorsport by five points from Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Tänak and Sordo traded places throughout Sunday’s three-stage finale with the Estonian eventually sealing the runner-up spot in the closing test.

Early leader Esapekka Lappi finished fourth in a Ford Fiesta, matching his best result of the season. The Finn was 30.7sec behind Ott Tanak and 21.6sec clear of Kalle Rovanperä’s Yaris. WRC 3 winner Andreas Mikkelsen completed the top six in a Skoda Fabia.

Oliver Solberg, WRC 3 world champion Jari Huttunen, WRC 2 title winner Mads Østberg and Pontus Tidemand completed the leaderboard.

A disappointed Evans restarted this morning after his crash and finished 26th.



WRC champ Sebastien Ogier praises Monza finale

Sébastien Ogier: 2020 title was no easy ride

Ott Tanak: I’ve taken many lessons in WRC

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Share post:



More like this

Coronel Brothers – ready for Dakar 2022

In the line for the final scrutineering the Century...

Seven weeks of preparation for 14 hours of racing at the WEC finale in Bahrain

The FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) starts its grand...

Cambrian Gravel awaits Cronin

Saturday's Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally marks the penultimate round...

X44 claims top qualifier spot for Enel X Island X Prix

Following three action-packed races in Saudi Arabia, Senegal and...