G. Piana and Hofor Racing win the driver and team standings again


New event format, the same winners: At the first-ever virtual award ceremony for the BMW Sports Trophy, last year’s winners Gabriele Piana (ITA) and Team Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport were once again crowned the overall winners of the driver and team standings.

Since the current pandemic situation this year mean it was impossible to host an in-person ceremony, the traditional season review of the 59th edition of the renowned customer racing competition was broadcast on BMW Motorsport’s Facebook page and YouTube channel.
Like last year, Piana was once again the measure of all things in the driver rankings in the 2019/20 classification period. The 34-year-old racked up a total of 945 points and received a cash prize of 30,000 euros for his second BMW Sports Trophy success. Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport was also a ‘repeat offender’ this year. 874 points saw team principal Michael Bonk’s crew secure their second overall win in a row in the team standings. A total prize fund of 350,000 euros was paid out to the 25 most successful drivers and the top ten teams. In the 2019/20 season, 379 drivers and 71 teams registered for the BMW Sports Trophy competitions.
“In light of the specific circumstances, it was a more than challenging season for us all,” said Jonas Krauss, Head of Sales Customer Racing, who led the virtual award ceremony. “But the privateer BMW teams and drivers around the world proved once again that they are at the forefront in international motorsport.

They were not only more than worthy representatives of the BMW colours, they also provided countless unforgettable highlights. Congratulations to this year’s prize winners, particularly to the winners of the driver and team standings, Gabriele Piana and Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport. Winning the BMW Sports Trophy once is a tremendous achievement. To do it twice in a row demonstrates an unprecedented will to win, outstanding dedication and real team spirit. For that they have my great respect and thanks.”
The 2019/20 classification period was characterised by the coronavirus pandemic in particular, which temporarily brought all wheels to a standstill. But after the restart and a strong season, the privateer BMW teams recorded an impressive 118 class wins in 32 series and race events, as well as twelve driver and team titles. Particular highlights included the 20th BMW overall win in the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring (GER) and the one-two victory with the BMW M6 GT3 in the 8-hour race in Indianapolis (USA). The BMW M4 GT4 and the BMW M240i Racing also won various titles, and the BMW M2 CS Racing made its successful race debut.
Successful defending champions: Gabriele Piana and Hofor Racing.
Piana, who represented Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport and the RN Vision STS Racing team this season, continued his winning streak of 2019 in the ADAC GT4 Germany, the GT4 European Series and the Nürburgring Endurance Series (NLS). In addition to the title in the driver standings in the ADAC GT4 Germany, he celebrated a total of five class wins in the BMW M4 GT4. That saw him relegate his team-mates Michael Schrey (GER) and America’s Robby Foley into second and third place.

“It feels a little unreal, particularly after this difficult year,” said Piana. “We gave it everything we had and pushed ourselves to the limit throughout the whole season. We had a few difficulties, including in the GT4 European Series. But on the other hand, we won the ADAC GT4 Germany title. I definitely didn’t expect that at the beginning of the year but it feels well deserved because we worked extremely hard. There are a lot of people behind these achievements.

Without all of them and without such a reliable car, there’s no way it would have been possible so I’m very grateful for this and would like to thank everyone involved from the bottom of my heart. This award is also for you. I’m over the moon and proud to have won the title for the second time and hope that I can keep this streak going next year.”
In the BMW Sports Trophy team standings there was no beating the Swiss team Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport once again. A total of 13 podiums in the ADAC GT4 Germany, the Nürburgring Endurance Series, the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring and in the 24H SERIES brought home the second overall win. Second and third place went to the teams Avia Sorg Rennsport and BimmerWorld Racing. Michael Bonk (GER), team principal of Bonk Motorsport, said: “In such difficult times as the ones we are currently experiencing, it is extremely important to have a strong team behind you. I am incredibly lucky to have a team like that around me. We face each challenge together and master it perfectly. I’m delighted to be receiving this award and would like to thank everyone involved from the bottom of my heart.” The renewed triumph saw the team receive a cash prize of 30,000 euros in addition to the winner’s trophy.

Schubert Motorsport provides BMW Customer Racing ‘Moment of the Year’.
The year’s award for the BMW Customer Racing ‘Moment of the Year’ went to Schubert Motorsport. As in the past, fans were able to choose from five highlights and vote for their personal favourites on BMW Motorsport’s social media channels. The team from Oschersleben’s (GER) spectacular recovery at the Sachsenring (GER) in the ADAC GT Masters race fended off Turner Motorsport (USA) by a wafer-thin margin.
Overview of the final results for the 2019/20 BMW Sports Trophy.
BMW Sports Trophy Driver Standings:

1Gabriele Piana945
2Michael Schrey785
3Robby Foley557
4Björn Simon470
5James Clay444
6Philipp Leisen427
7Christopher Rink390
8Danny Brink390
9Benjamin Lessennes316
10Ben Tuck300
11Tobias Grahovec296
12Sean Quinlan283
13Ricardo Van Der Ende276
14David Griessner257
15Ben Green256
16Chandler Hull236
17Stefano Comandini234
17Marius Zug234
19Johan Schwartz220
20Bas Schouten216
21Philipp Stahlschmidt214
22Yannick Fübrich209
23José Manuel De Los Milagros202
24Francesco Guerra194
25Simone Riccitelli190

BMW Sports Trophy Team Standings:

1Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport874
2Team Avia Sorg Rennsport788
3BimmerWorld Racing729
4Walkenhorst Motorsport693
5Pixum CFN Team Adrenalin Motorsport688
6Turner Motorsport591
7Classic BMW / Fast Track Racing485
8BMW Team Italia428
9FK Performance380
10ST Racing320


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Share post:



More like this

Coronel Brothers – ready for Dakar 2022

In the line for the final scrutineering the Century...

Seven weeks of preparation for 14 hours of racing at the WEC finale in Bahrain

The FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) starts its grand...

Cambrian Gravel awaits Cronin

Saturday's Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally marks the penultimate round...

X44 claims top qualifier spot for Enel X Island X Prix

Following three action-packed races in Saudi Arabia, Senegal and...