Friday, September 17, 2021

64 crews in Sardinia line-up

Must read

Twelve World Rally Cars feature on a strong 64-car Rally Italia Sardegna (8 – 11 October) entry that also features competitors from the WRC 2, WRC 3 and Junior WRC support categories.

Toyota Gazoo Racing has listed four Yaris cars for the gravel road encounter. Elfyn Evans and Sébastien Ogier, who lie first and second in the FIA World Rally Championship points, are joined by teenage Finn Kalle Rovanperä, who is tied in third place.

The trio will be joined by Japan’s Takamoto Katsuta, who returns after missing Rally Turkey. Katsuta’s last outing at Rally Estonia ended in a heavy roll.

Last year’s winner, Dani Sordo, is back in Hyundai Motorsport’s line-up alongside world champion Ott Tänak and Thierry Neuville. Pierre-Louis Loubet drives a fourth i20 for the Hyundai 2C Competition squad.

M-Sport Ford fields Esapekka Lappi, Teemu Suninen and Gus Greensmith in Fiestas. Czech driver Martin Prokop makes his first WRC appearance since last year’s Italian fixture in June in another Fiesta entered by MP-Sports.

Petter Solberg is listed in a Citroën C3 with fellow Norwegian driver Andreas Mikkelsen as his co-driver. The pair will demonstrate Pirelli’s 2021 WRC tyres at the shakedown and rally-closing Wolf Power Stage and have been included in the entry for regulatory reasons. They will not compete on the rally.

A high-quality WRC 2 entry is headlined by championship leader Pontus Tidemand (Skoda Fabia) and Mads Østberg (Citroën C3). Also entered are Adrian Fourmaux (Ford Fiesta), Nikolay Gryazin, Ole Christian Veiby (both Hyundai i20) and Eyvind Brynildsen (Fabia).

The top seven in the points all feature in a 16-strong WRC 3 entry. It is headed by leader Marco Bulacia (Citroën C3), second-placed Jari Huttunen (i20) and Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Fabia), who is third. Oliver Solberg (Fabia) and Eric Camilli (C3), winner of the opening round at Monte-Carlo, will also compete.

The eight Junior WRC entrants are headed by the top three in the championship standings, Martins Sesks, Sami Pajari and Tom Kristensson.

See the full entry list here


You may not copy, reproduce, republish, translate, download, post, broadcast or transmit any part of the Racing Life website in whole or in part, in any form or medium, except for your own personal, non-commercial use. Contacts


More articles

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -

Latest article